| at the bay |
| sailing school of NSC |
| @ cold rock ice cream house |
| mine was blueberry+vanilla+smarties |
It was on April 27th, we departed from Mataram to Jakarta at 1.20 pm. And the flight from Jakarta to Melbourne would be around 10.22 pm. So we had such a plenty of time in Jakarta, but we mustn’t leave the airport. We got like 10 hours of waiting for the flight that day. As all of us were very excited, we didn’t mind to wait, we spent our time having lunch, chit chat, looking around some shops in there, buying some stuffs like books to read, and etc until information announced us to proceed to a certain gate. There we came… everyone was already in, the aircraft was about to leave. aaaannndd a horrible flight started here. When plane was about half way to take off, in all of sudden it stopped, then me and I think everybody there were meant to worry. Pilot confirmed that there was a miss communication with the tower control, and he would go around to take off once again. I was shaken, and so Maya (my friend sitting next to me) was. We looked out the window, it was raining, kind of heavy raining perhaps. Plane had left the ground. Since the 1st minute leaving the ground till it’s landed in Melbourne, it felt like the plane went high and low, right and left, bumpy all the time. They informed that we had to face the storm all along Indians ocean. Imagine, we stayed in that situation for 6 to 7 hours. Pretty much scary!!!!!! Couldn’t sleep at all! Couldn’t relax, couldn’t eat, I just could do nothing but just sit and pray all flight long. Thank God, it all ended when we arrived at Tullamarine airport in Melbourne at 8 am on the next day. I was a bit surprised to see how tight the security system there. After passing immigration check, and got our luggage, we gotta pass other 2 times checking to make sure that we’re safe enough to travel in the country. But luckily, I didn’t pass those 2 checking spots, hehe… there was a woman wearing scarf, she’s an airport officer, she looked at me then asked about my luggage and stuffs, I had a nice conversation with her for about 10 minutes (she firstly thought I was a Mideast, hahaha), and surprisingly she led me directly to exit door without passing through those checking spots. So there I was, being the 1st and fastest one to exit because my group was actually still in there passing checking spots when I already met my host sister outside and waited them for about more than half hour. As most of us didn’t have any food on the plane, so we decided to buy mcdonalds in the airport while waiting for the bus to deliver us to Geelong city from Melbourne. It took an hour. The 1st place we headed in Geelong was the sailing school of Newcomb Secondary College which is right at the bay shore. We could see many yachts were there on the bay. It’s so beautiful for sightseeing. Then Pak Karl, indo teacher at NSC, took us for walk down to town to the shopping mall. Its 10 to 15 minutes from bay to the mall by walk. We had lunch and bought local sim-card there. Right after, 6 of us separated from the group, they were me, sheridan, maya, jordan, ratih, and alyce. The day we arrived was eventually my host sister’s birthday. And alyce already planned to treat us for ice cream. So we went to Cold Rock ice cream, its kinda ice cream house (here you may have a taste on each flavor for free, there are like 20 flavors available, and you can choose and mix them all and add some topping such caramel, lollies, and many other toppings, also you can choose the size you want to have, how cool is that). We went there by bus leaving from the mall. On that day, the weather was great. Not too cold, not hot either. Its just cool. Air temperature was around 14-19 degree celcius at that moment. And at around 4 pm, sheridan’s daddy and jordan’s mum came picking us up. then we’re hoooommmeeeyy…
My host family is very nice and kind. They welcomed me so well. I love them. I love their pets too, they have 2 dogs (trooper and demi), 2 cats (boofer and chaves), and a cute bunny.
I had a kfc for my dinner that day. Its pop corn chicken!!!! Hmmm idk how to describe how yummy it was! :D
Well that’s just it… my first day ended at 8 pm cause I was tired so went to bed very early though :)
No comments:
Post a Comment